Thwip! Reviews – Superman #09

When I read Superman #08 and turned to those last few pages, my heart swelled as I saw that it was a loving homage to all things that I have loved over the past few years, Darwyn Cooke’s New Frontier, Jack Kirby, and of course, the maestro of war comics, Joe Kubert.

Needless to say, I was excited about this week’s issue of Superman, I can’t wait to see Super-dad, Krypto, and Superboy take on Dinosaur Island.

So many good things to say, Peter Tomasi and Patrick Gleason really have a handle on the story they want to tell and how they want their characters to act.

So basically this was a little father and son jaunt to (and now back from) Dinosaur Island, ’cause when your dad is Superman and you have a super-dog, where else you going to go for an adventure?  The story had nice nuances of father bonding, of the perils of growing up, and of Krypto just being awesome.

Dough Mahnke’s art for this issue was fantastic, not even batting an eye as he is asked to draw outlandish creatures as well as some fantastic action – I keep forgetting what a stellar artist he is and then he pulls something like this off to shame me for my forgetfulness.

Go pick it up, pick up the previous issues, so far there has not been a miss in this Rebirth-ed Superman series.

Thwip on!

Leave a Reply

