Thwip! Watch – Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. – S04E18 – “All the Madame’s Men”

Thwip! Watch is all about what goes on our screens, namely TV. Whether CW or Fox or NBC or what-have-you, you can be sure that we here at Thwip! have been watching it. Today we are going to talk about Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

So Coulson is stepping up as the Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. work on taking on Madame Hydra and…Hydra (I hate being redundant).

Other than that, we finally get all the pieces of The Plan (it’s a little dumb…kind of too Pinnochio-esque for me). The building tension though, that’s pretty good – especially with Fitz and his father (which they foreshadowed way back in the beginning of this season), ’cause that’s the most compelling of all the little tidbits of Framework “What If”-ness (or as one of my other Thwipsters has said “House of M”-lite)

I am having a strange disconnect with this series in that I can see this being actually a pretty decent show, but I can’t seem to care about any of it…it could be the same problem that I mentioned with Arrow earlier, the story isn’t sustainable over so many episodes…TV series needs to be quicker, ’cause the episodes stretch out the story to ludicrous lengths.

A good buildup episode for what might be endgame of this whole Madame Hydra situation, with all the pieces moving into place a little clumsily (Coulson managing to step up from schoolteacher to head of S.H.I.E.L.D. is a bit of a stretch…especially over the course of an episode basically), but the betrayal of Fitz is what keeps us wanting more.

Leave a Reply

